Select an option from the menu below to view resources available by individual titles or by subject. Click on the appropriate link to access each resource from either inside or outside the Library. Access from outside the Library requires a valid Kern County Library Card and Personal Identification Number (PIN).
| NEW RESOURCES |
| Business & Company Resource Center |
In Library
Outside the Library |
Provides company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information. |
| Expanded Academic ASAP |
In Library
Outside the Library |
From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database provides access to scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images! |
| Health & Wellness Resource Center |
In Library
Outside the Library |
Provides access to nearly 400 health/medical journals, numerous reference volumes, over 700 health videos, hundreds of pamphlets and health-related articles from 2,200 general interest publications. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only. |
| Informe |
In Library
Outside the Library |
A collection of Hispanic magazines with full text. Covers business, health, technology, culture, current topics and other subjects. |
| Infotrac Agriculture Collection |
In Library
Outside the Library |
A collection of nearly 200 titles covering agriculture and its related fields, from practical aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in horticulture. |
| Infotrac Business Economics & Theory Collection |
In Library
Outside the Library |
Provides access to 150 full-text academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics |
| Infotrac Communications & Mass Media Collection |
In Library
Outside the Library |
A collection of more than 100 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered include advertising and public relations, linguistics, and literature. |
| Infotrac Criminal Justice Collection |
In Library
Outside the Library |
A collection of criminal justice and law enforcement information from 150 journals. |
| Infotrac Diversity Studies Collection |
In Library
Outside the Library |
Explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. This set includes 150 journals. |
| Infotrac Environmental Issues & Policy Collection |
In Library
Outside the Library |
Provides access to nearly 200 journals presenting the multiple viewpoints of the field of environmental issues and policy, including perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests. |
| Infotrac Fine Arts & Music Collection |
In Library
Outside the Library |
Provides resources from 100 full-text magazines and journals to support research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. |
| Infotrac Gardening, Landscape & Horticulture Collection |
In Library
Outside the Library |
A collection of nearly 50 journals focused on key issues in gardening, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture. |
| Infotrac Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgender Issues Collection |
In Library
Outside the Library |
This collection of nearly 40 journals aims to provide balanced coverage of this significant aspect of our culture, covering such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and more. |
| Infotrac General OneFile |
In Library
Outside the Library |
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily. |
| Infotrac General Science Collection |
In Library
Outside the Library |
A collection of over 200 journals providing researchers with the information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments -- including such topics as particle physics, advanced mathematics, and nanotechnology. |
| Infotrac Home Improvement Collection |
In Library
Outside the Library |
A collection of nearly 100 home-improvement focused titles covering such topics as architectural techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements, and more. |
| Infotrac Information Science & Library Issues Collection |
In Library
Outside the Library |
Comprised of content from nearly 100 leading industry journals, this collection provides current and accurate information for the information professional. Coverage includes such topics as data processing techniques, metadata architectures, and more. |
| Infotrac Insurance & Liability Collection |
In Library
Outside the Library |
This collection, comprised of nearly 40 journals, takes a broad view of the insurance and liability industry, covering such topics as labor relations, mortgage banking, and legal issues. |
| Infotrac Nursing & Allied Health Collection |
In Library
Outside the Library |
All aspects of the nursing profession from direct patient care to health care administration are covered in this collection of nearly 400 titles. |
| Infotrac Physical Therapy & Sports Medicine Collection |
In Library
Outside the Library |
A collection of over 100 titles covering the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine, providing researchers with access to many topics in the field, including proven treatment techniques and experimental research theses. |
| Infotrac Pop Culture Collection |
In Library
Outside the Library |
This collection provides useful information for any researcher in a social science, history, art or liberal arts course. This collection is made up of 100 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals. |
| Infotrac Psychology Collection |
In Library
Outside the Library |
This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops over time. Provides access to 200 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals. |
| Infotrac Religion & Philosophy Collection |
In Library
Outside the Library |
Features a selection of more than 250 magazines and academic journals covering religion and the related areas of philosophy, archaeology and anthropology. |
| Infotrac Small Business Collection |
In Library
Outside the Library |
Perfect for business schools and entrepreneurs, this compilation provides insights, tips, strategies and success stories. Users will find 250 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals. |
| Infotrac Tourism, Hospitality & Leisure Collection |
In Library
Outside the Library |
This collection of nearly 500 journals provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism field. |
| Infotrac U.S. History Collection |
In Library
Outside the Library |
This collection of over 40 journals provides balanced coverage of both the current thought and events in US History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field; useful both to the novice historian and to the advanced academic researcher. |
| Infotrac Vocation, Careers, & Technical Education Collection |
In Library
Outside the Library |
Providing content from nearly 400 journals, this collection provides content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals. |
| Infotrac War & Terrorism Collection |
In Library
Outside the Library |
A definitive collection for students of history, social science and current events, providing insight into conflicts and their multiple causes. References include 100 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals. |
| Infotrac World History Collection |
In Library
Outside the Library |
This collection of over 40 journals provides balanced coverage of both the current thought and events in World History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field; useful both to the novice historian and to the advanced academic researcher. |
| Kids Infobits |
In Library
Outside the Library |
Kids InfoBits is a database developed especially for beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5. This database covers geography, current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more. |
| Litfinder |
In Library
Outside the Library |
Provides access to more than 135,000 full-text poems, stories, and plays. Includes citations, biographies, explanations, overviews and images to enhance understanding. |
| Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center |
In Library
Outside the Library |
Social issues database with viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazines articles, as well as links to more than 1,000 reviewed and subject-indexed websites. |
| What Do I Read Next? |
In Library
Outside the Library |
Includes over 134,300 recommended titles, more than 74,500 plot summaries, and awards information from 568 awards. Search by genre, subject, author, title, series, and more. A monthly highlights page allows the user to see selections of award winners, upcoming titles, and titles that revolve around different subjects each month. |
| Automotive Repair |
| AllData |
In Library Only |
Auto repair information for import and domestic cars and light trucks, 1982 - 2005. This resource is only available at Beale Memorial Library. |
| Auto Repair Reference Center (EBSCO) |
In Library
Outside the Library |
Provides repair reference, wiring diagrams, and a repair cost estimator. |
| Biography |
| Current Biography Illustrated (WilsonWeb) |
In Library
Outside the Library |
Online version of the printed monthly Current Biography. Contains more than 15,000 full text biographies, 9,400 obituaries, and more than 19,500 images. |
| Business and Career |
| Learning Express Library |
In Library
Outside the Library |
Provides an interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help patrons, students, and adult learners succeed on academic or licensing tests. |
| Reference USA |
In Library
Outside the Library |
Nationwide directory provides detailed information on 120 million U.S. households and 14 million U.S. businesses. |
| Genealogy |
| Ancestry Library Edition |
In Library Only |
Online source of information for conducting genealogical and local history research.This resource is only available in the Library. |
| Grants and Foundations |
| Foundation Directory Online |
In Library Only |
Online database of foundations, corporate givers, and grantmaking public charities, as well as their associated grants. This resource is only available at Beale Memorial Library, Kern River Valley Branch, and Ridgecrest Branch. |
| Foundation Grants to Individuals Online |
In Library Only |
Online database provides detailed descriptions of more than 6,000 foundation programs that fund students, artists, researchers, and other individual grantseekers. This resource is only available at Beale Memorial Library. You must use the unfiltered public browser in order to access. |
| The Foundation Center Grant Information |
All Access |
Website for the Foundation Center. Includes news and information resources for grantseekers and grantmakers. |
| Images |
| Kern County Local History Photograph Collection |
All Access |
Part of the Online Archive of California (OAC), Kern County Library's photograph collection includes images of historical interest of Bakersfield and other areas of Kern County from the late 1800s to 2001. |
| San Joaquin Valley & Sierra Foothills Photo Heritage |
All Access |
Online archive of digitized historical photographs from Kern County Library and eight other member libraries of the San Joaquin Valley Library System (SJVLS). |
| Journal, Magazine, and Newspaper Articles |
American Newspapers
(NewsBank) |
In Library
Outside the Library |
Full-text articles from 730 U.S. newspapers, including the Bakersfield Californian. Includes Electronic Image Editions (exact digital reproductions of print version) for the Bakersfield Californian, the New York Times, the New York Times Advance Sunday, and the New York Times Magazine. |
The Bakersfield Californian
(NewsBank) |
In Library
Outside the Library |
Full-text articles from the Bakersfield Californian from February 2003 to current. Also available in an Electronic Image Edition (exact digital reproduction of print version) from 9/3/05 to current. |
Newspapers in Spanish
(Acceda Noticias - NewsBank) |
In Library
Outside the Library |
Full-text articles from 46 Spanish language newspapers throughout the U.S. |
| Readers' Guide Full Text (WilsonWeb) |
In Library
Outside the Library |
This online version of the Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature contains comprehensive indexing, abstracting, and full text of popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada. |
| Online Reference |
| AskNow |
All Access |
A service that lets you ask questions and get answers, in real time, from live reference staff from libraries here and across the country. |
| Librarians' Internet Index: Ready Reference & Quick Facts |
All Access |
Website with online Ready Reference tools such as dictionaries, almanacs, gazetteers, phone books, and calculators. The Librarians' Internet Index website is an annotated subject directory with more than 13,000 Internet resources selected by librarians for users of public libraries. |
| Society and Culture |
| State Reports - America the Beautiful (Grolier Online) |
In Library
Outside the Library |
Online database for state research reports. Each state article includes fast facts, history and geography, economy and culture, government, and cities. |
| Country Reports - Lands and Peoples (Grolier Online) |
In Library
Outside the Library |
Encyclopedia of countries, cultures, and current events. Each article on continents and countries of the world includes web and article links, photographs, maps, flags, bibliographic references, supplementary stories, and facts and figures. |
| Current Issues: Reference Shelf Plus (WilsonWeb) |
In Library
Outside the Library |
Database of full-text articles covering a variety of current social, scientific, health, political, and global issues. |
| Other Resources |
| Infopeople Project Information Tools |
All Access |
Website for the Infopeople Project, a federally-funded grant project which was started to provide points of public access to the Internet in public libraries throughout California. |
| Online Book Club |
All Access |
Join our OnLine Book Clubs and start reading books in your email. Each day we’ll send you a 5-minute portion of a book. By the end of the week, you’ll have read 2-3 chapters. If you’d like to finish a book, stop by the library and pick up a copy. Every week we feature new books. Sign up today and start reading tomorrow. |
| San Joaquin Valley Library System |
All Access |
Website for the San Joaquin Valley Library System (SJVLS). |